RSS

Head, Heart and Hips

11 Nov

There’s more to yoga than doing postures, chanting ‘om’ and breathing deeply. Its a whole way of life. I love my formal yoga practice but I’ve always been more intrigued by yoga off the mat.

‘Yoga’ means union. I think the most important yoga is between your mind, heart and body. When all your bits are unified with each other you’re on track. I know that whenever I try to do something that’s a struggle for any part of me it fails. Life just works better when you are in ‘yoga’ with yourself.

Romantic relationships is the biggest and best opportunity to bring your mind, heart and body into harmonious union with each other. In fact, its the most important relationship skill because when you are in synch with yourself you can truly share yourself with your partner. You make decisions that are right for you, you communicate better, you don’t become needy. You even become more attractive – because being in synch with yourself gives you poise and confidence.

I’ll be teaching about all this in ‘Head, Heart and Hips: The Yoga of Relationships’
at the British Yoga Festival, Friday 5th December in London. Find out more here http://www.yogamagazine.com/the-yoga-of-relationships/

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 11/11/2014 in Events

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Head, Heart and Hips

  1. Ravi Sandhu

    12/11/2014 at 7:29 am

    Great article Vena, I’ll aim to be at the event. One point of clarification though, I believe yoga means unions (plural), it is yog that means union (singular). Am I correct?

     
    • Vena Ramphal

      12/11/2014 at 8:18 am

      Hi Ravi, thanks. Do come along, we’re all looking forward to the event. Yoga (the more precise transliteration is yogah) is nominative singular. Its a Sanskrit word. ‘Yog’ is not Sanskrit – it may be Hindi. I know nothing of Hindi so I can’t comment on that I’m afraid. Thanks for engaging.

       

Leave a Reply

 
